April 13, 2018

Golda Meir student honored for winning InvestWrite essay contest

MILWAUKE – Alex Eisenberg isn’t old enough to have a bank account, but the 13-year-old knows more about stocks, bonds and mutual funds than many adults.

The Golda Meir student won an essay contest called InvestWrite.

“Alex wrote an awesome essay about a nonprofit and how a nonprofit could invest its money in an ethically responsible manner,” said Francis Vogel, executive director of Economics Wisconsin.

Golda Meir School and the Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association Foundation recognized Alex and other students during an award ceremony Friday.

“I had no idea that I won this until I just walked into the library,” Alex said.

“He’s a hard worker. He’s patient with his parents who demanded he rewrite that essay about four times. He’s got a great attitude about school,” said Alex’s dad, Mark Eisenberg.

Considering he beat out every other kid in the state for this honor, will his parents let him invest part of the household income?

“Not yet, maybe after high school,” Mark Eisenberg said.

Congrats Alex!

Check out the article and video by visiting the link below.




Unable to display Facebook posts.
Show error

Error: (#4) Application request limit reached
Type: OAuthException
Code: 4
Please refer to our Error Message Reference.



Kicking off right now is the inaugural meeting with the Coalition for Business, Economic and Financial Literacy. @WI_DECA @WIBusWorld @AVID4College @WIFBLA @EWWCEE @wisbank @JAWisconsin Secure Futures, WeBIT and WI Marketing Education Assoc.

Load More...